20120904-195550.jpg
There are potatoes in there.

This summer, due to all the rain and cool weather, our potatoes got blight – a fungus that makes the leaves turn brown, curl up and rot. I had to pull all the leaves and stems out and discard them. I then earthed up or ridged more dirt along the rows to keep them buried until harvest time.

They say you should burn the blight, but I put the stems on the compost believing in the power of composting to tranform bad to good (biological transmutation). I also read it was OK.

Hopefully very little blight got down to the tubers. So far, all the ones I’ve dug up are looking good. I always buy resistant sorts now after once loosing a years supply because I used my own potatoes too many years as sets.

As soon as the garden dries out a bit I’ll have to get busy harvesting.

