I dug up the rest of the potatos today saving a couple more bushels from freezing. The ground is now frozen about 2 centimeters down, but it partly thaws out in the afternoon sun and is diggable.

It was, however, a real chore digging through the ice into the mud underneath. The mud caked onto my shovel and hoe. The potatos were caked in mud that had to be scraped off. My gloves, too, got covered in an ever thicker layer of mud while my boots became heavy with muck making huge clumps of the wet goo. I stumbled about like a zombie in a space suit of mud but finaly got it done. I vowed to plant less potatos next year but will probably forget.

A few days ago, under better conditions, I planted next years garlic.

20121028-205430.jpg
I planted more than last year, mostly from this years crop, but also some new bought cloves for comparison. I also threw on the rest of the carrot seeds that will survive the winter and sprout earlier in the spring and fill out the bed after the garlic is harvested in summer.

20121028-205738.jpg

