I got busy digging the last garden circle. This is the fenced-in garden protected from the deer and rabbits. We still have two kinds of kale and broccoli there that should hold fine until christmas.

20121130-165116.jpg
First, I had to drain the area after all the recent rain and wet snow, connecting it to the drainage I did earlier. My new drainage system works great, so I could soon get to work turning the dirt over, preparing it for next years crop of brassica, chards, leeks etc. Things the wildlife can’t resist.

20121130-170131.jpg
It must look pretty crazy digging in the fresh snow, but I’ve been waiting for this weather (either frost or snow), so that I don’t have to fight the mud as much. At the end of the day I had most of the area done. I can easily finish it tomorrow.

Then I’ll be satisfied for this season. But if it warms up again, there are plenty more digging projects I could work on. Otherwise I’ll take it easy, do some skiing, work on garden art, do a lot of food processing and such for the rest of the winter.

