There hasn’t been much activity concerning gardening or cooking going on here lately that is interesting – until I threw together todays dinner.

20130108-193508.jpg
The sautéed vegetables with noodles, parboiled kale, lactic pickled carrot and fried tempeh looked pretty good and tasted even better, so I took this picture and the opportunity to write about tempeh.

Tempeh is a traditional fermented soyfood from Indonesia. For hundreds of years the people of Indonesia have been inoculating boiled soybeans with the fungus Rhizopus oryzae (naturally occuring in the environment). They then leave the beans to become infused with the mycelium of this mold until it all becomes a solid mass which can be sliced and fried for a meal. The soybeans become partially predigested and thus easy on the stomach. The taste of it changes too, to something more like chicken, they say. I, however, think it has its own distinctive, wonderful flavour.

Today I fried the tempeh slices in lots of olive oil with one dash of herb salt and another of tumeric powder on each side.

In the 80,s I made my own tempeh in an incubator for temperature control, with mold spores from a lab, but now we buy excellent (better than my own) fresh tempeh from Holland.

Besides, my incubator is not functioning now. I have to get in and look over the electric system. The thermostat probably has to be replaced. And soon too, as I must get busy growing mold for home miso production.