The last batch of miso for this season will be an herb miso. I confess, it’s my invention, I think. I have not found anything like it anywhere in the world, including Japan and China, but I’m sure there must be someone, somewhere that has developed something similar.

This is a standard 2 year rice miso with herbs thrown in to ferment along with the soybeans. It’s miso with a European touch – very tasty and quite popular too.

Here’s the recipe.

Ingredients:
700 gr soybeans
700 gr rice koji
320 gr salt
1 tbs (tablespoon) thyme
1 tbs oregano
1 tbs basil
5 or so cloves of garlic

20130522-132147.jpg
Follow the standard recipe found in the menu above under ‘How to make miso’.

I soaked the beans yesterday morning, boiled them for 4 hours, then let them sit overnight. This morning I ground the beans (I’ve found grinding them before adding the other ingredients is easier on the machine).

20130522-132341.jpg
Then add the koji and grind some more. Add the herbs after grinding and mix thoroughly.

20130522-132413.jpg
Pack in a large canning jar and put away to ferment for 2 years.

20130522-132531.jpg
I like to leave the garlic cloves whole or halved. It is a delight to find a pickled clove – the flavor is so mild yet pungent. Garlic lovers can put in a lot more than I do. You can also use many other favorite herbs such as sage, rosemary, bay leaf etc.

Mine are all home grown.

