Many years ago I saw some old ladies working on stone at a sculpting course by the sea, and I thought – I’m going to do that too when I get old. So now, after a few years tryng to get into such a course, I have done it.

20130722-170013.jpg
I have tried to learn on my own and made many mistakes. Now I can learn about the proper tools, how to use them, security and the various kinds of stone.

20130722-171555.jpg
After an hour of introduction we each chose a piece of stone and started pounding. I took a piece of Sala Marble. Everyone seemed to go almost directly to the power tools. It sounded like a nest of angry wasps revved up to volume 11. I chose to work with hand tools only for the first day, and got the foolish idea to make a hole through my stone by hand, figuring that that would be a good way to learn the tools and strengths of the stone.

20130722-182600.jpg
The instructor informed me that there are drills for making holes, and that even the ancient Romans had drills (powered by slaves), and that I was dulling the points on the chisels. He sharpened them, gave me some pointers on angles and told me to continue with my experiment. At the end of todays session I had managed to get most of the way through without breaking the stone. Tomorrow!

Here’s what one of the instructors is working on.
br />
20130722-220343.jpg

