I have been making rice koji steady since the middle of January – a batch nearly every three days. I now have about 15 kilos, and that’s enough for miso making this year plus some to sell. I’ve run out of tane koji for rice koji anyway, so now I definitely have to get more when we are in Japan.

20140317-133242.jpg
This time one half (one of the two crocks) turned out greener than the other due to sporulation.

20140317-133535.jpg
I had let them incubate longer – 54 hours instead of the normal 48. I will test for differences in the subsequent miso.

Now I must make a few batches of barley koji, but first I have to get some well hulled barley.

20140317-134101.jpg
That’s not easy to find, but tommorow I’m going to visit an eco barley farmer who has a hulling machine we can hopefully tune just right.

