Before 

After 

It doesn’t take much time for the weeds to get going, and they can soon take over the garden. Here it is mostly an invasive kind of poppy that I don’t dislike, but I have to keep it under control along with the rest of the weeds. 

It looks pretty desolate after weeding. The seeds have hardly germinated, and I do do a thorough job – microweeding. Most organic or eco gardeners allow for weeds because they don’t like monoculture or bare earth, but I have to have the weed situation under control before leaving the garden for a week and a half for our annual trip go the far north. And, although I don’t care much for minimalism, I like it when it comes to weeding. 

Mulch gets piled on as I weed or as soon as possible, and I  leave a few poppies and other nice weeds like cilantro for color and food. 

