I’m going to try to increase my sales this year, and there is a big vegetarian festival in Uppsala coming up, that I will be participing in this year, so I bought some eco carrots to make some more lactic fermented carrots. 

Cleaned and peeled 

Shredded 
Then mixed with 1.5% salt and herbs and packed into jars for at least one month fermenting. 

12 kilos of carrots have become 2 kilos of peels for the compost and 10 kilos of pickles. I don’t like throwing away so much, so I took out the small, skinny carrots, just cleaned them well, and made a separate batch with them. It’s in the 2 jars on the left. You may notice that they have a darker brown color because of the peels, and many customers think they look less appetizing, so the sales might not be as good. We can always eat them up ourselves. The middle one is spiced with fresh ginger. The 2 on the right are spiced with caraway seeds, as are the peely ones. 

 

2 days later – I realised that I forgot to put the garlic in. Bad. So I opened each jar and pushed a few cloves in. It was a bit messy because the fermentation process was already going strong. Trapped CO2 fizzed and bubbled over, but I’m sure I saved the batch. 

