The normal koji making is done for this season. Now for an experiment. I’m sure someone, somewhere in the world has tried this before, but it’s going to be a first for me. Rye koji. I’ve always thought this would be difficult or impossible because of the hard shell around the kernal. 

The farmer where I get my barley for making barley koji from, makes pearled or slightly polished barley by husking the barley a little extra in a machine. Rye has no husk, but I had him put some of his ecologically grown rye through that machine. The result looked like this;

After cleaning and soaking;

After steaming;


Then after cooling, innoculating with barley koji starter and incubating, it will be interesting to see what happens. I suspect the rye has not been polished enough. We’ll see.

