A package came today. 


2 packages of tane koji – one for rice koji and the other for barley koji. 


I ordered them about 2 weeks ago from:

Higuchi Matsunosuke Shoten Co., Ltd.

TEL:(81)06-6621-8781

FAX:(81)06-6621-2550

E-mail:koichi@higuchi-m.co.jp

URL:http://www.higuchi-m.co.jp/ 

It took a little longer this time, because I wasn’t familiar with japanese international banking practices. 2 years ago I ordered from Gem Cultures in the US and payed very easily using Paypal. Higuchi doesn’t have Paypal or such, so I had to figure out a new way. With banking information from Higuchi and help from my local bank it worked smoothly. 

Each of these packages is enough Aspergillus mold spores to enoculate 200 kilos of rice or barley, so it’s going to last me many years. This is the smallest amount they sell and probably too much for a home koji maker, but the price is very good, and the payment procedure is easy enough, so I can definitly recommend buying tane koji from them. They have a very good web site in english too. 

